<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!-- generator="bbPress/1.1-alpha-2539" -->
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
		>
	<channel>
		<title>WordPress.com Forums &#187; Topic: SPAM GRAVATARS AND MALICIOUS BLOGS</title>
		<link>http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/spam-gravatars-and-malicious-blogs</link>
		<description>WordPress.com Forums &#187; Topic: SPAM GRAVATARS AND MALICIOUS BLOGS</description>
		<language>en</language>
		<pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 15:22:10 +0000</pubDate>
		<generator>http://bbpress.org/?v=1.1-alpha-2539</generator>
				<atom:link href="http://en.forums.wordpress.com/rss/topic/spam-gravatars-and-malicious-blogs" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />

		<item>
			<title>jmnartsy on "SPAM GRAVATARS AND MALICIOUS BLOGS"</title>
			<link>http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/spam-gravatars-and-malicious-blogs#post-1015575</link>
			<pubDate>Wed, 19 Sep 2012 12:05:20 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>jmnartsy</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">1015575@http://en.forums.wordpress.com/</guid>
			<description><![CDATA[<p>Recently I had received some Likes on both my blogs and a Follow on one blog from a certain WordPress blogger. As I like to check out new Likers/Followers of my posts/blogs, I clicked onto his gravatar which brought up the usual information including a link to his WordPress blog. I clicked onto that particular link (ie open in a new tab) and after a few nanoseconds received a message from my security software with the usual message that this was a malicious website and dangerous page and has been reported as an online scammer and not to proceed, which I didn't. I use an HTTPS connection for both blogs.</p>
<p>I made a private Support request via the online page re how to remove gravatars and Likes from such WordPress bloggers, and eventually received a reply from one of the engineers saying they thought it might be a false-positive, and asking for a screenshot of the message. I have not sent it and reply here instead:</p>
<p>I have been using my security software for nearly two years. It is corporate-strength, bank-strength software which has zapped out of existence some viruses and many spywares. No false-positives so far. I trust this software. Knowing its name is not relevant.</p>
<p>Since receiving the email from the WordPress engineer, all the other strange things that I have posted about tonight have been happening.  That malcious website person is still Liking my images; however, now all that appears in the gravatar is a picture of him and some text, nothing else any more!</p>
<p>I have noticed on my frequent other visits to WordPress blogs many such spam gravatars and wonder:</p>
<p>a) How can they remain in force without any verification, or any other obvious information re who they are?<br />
and<br />
b) WordPress needs to institute a way of removing such spam gravatars and Likes from such 'people'. Pronto.<br />
and<br />
c) Where do they come from? I.E. do they become part of a spambot ring targeting particular blogs?</p>
<p>I am a fervent supporter of WordPress and also a paying customer, for both my blogs.
</p>
]]></description>
					</item>

	</channel>
</rss>
