<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!-- generator="bbPress/1.1-alpha-2539" -->
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
		>
	<channel>
		<title>WordPress.com Forums &#187; Topic: What should be marked as spam?</title>
		<link>http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/what-should-be-marked-as-spam</link>
		<description>WordPress.com Forums &#187; Topic: What should be marked as spam?</description>
		<language>en</language>
		<pubDate>Sat, 18 May 2013 20:59:19 +0000</pubDate>
		<generator>http://bbpress.org/?v=1.1-alpha-2539</generator>
				<atom:link href="http://en.forums.wordpress.com/rss/topic/what-should-be-marked-as-spam" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />

		<item>
			<title>jewlab on "What should be marked as spam?"</title>
			<link>http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/what-should-be-marked-as-spam#post-86011</link>
			<pubDate>Fri, 08 Jun 2007 16:52:14 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>jewlab</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">86011@http://en.forums.wordpress.com/</guid>
			<description><![CDATA[<p>Hey, I'm sorry that pinging confused you guys, I'm not a scraper - I'm just trying to provide content a very specific audience and at the same time get a broader reader base.</p>
<p>I copied the content from nycgraphics because I feel he did a very nice job compiling the list.</p>
<p>Again, I apologize for the inconvenience.</p>
<p>(I started the blog this week, I'm still figuring out the pinging system as well as the Bloggers code of conduct)
</p>
]]></description>
					</item>
		<item>
			<title>devblog on "What should be marked as spam?"</title>
			<link>http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/what-should-be-marked-as-spam#post-85784</link>
			<pubDate>Thu, 07 Jun 2007 20:05:17 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>devblog</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">85784@http://en.forums.wordpress.com/</guid>
			<description><![CDATA[<p>I get it now too.  You know, I never saw it that way.  I mean, every time I saw identical pingbacks, I never thought of the possibility that "blog B" could be scraping "blog A's" content.
</p>
]]></description>
					</item>
		<item>
			<title>sunburntkamel on "What should be marked as spam?"</title>
			<link>http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/what-should-be-marked-as-spam#post-85783</link>
			<pubDate>Thu, 07 Jun 2007 20:04:30 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>sunburntkamel</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">85783@http://en.forums.wordpress.com/</guid>
			<description><![CDATA[<blockquote><p>
I still have pictures of naked 900+ pound women in my brain. bare with me.
</p></blockquote>
<p>glad i missed that one.
</p>
]]></description>
					</item>
		<item>
			<title>drmike on "What should be marked as spam?"</title>
			<link>http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/what-should-be-marked-as-spam#post-85768</link>
			<pubDate>Thu, 07 Jun 2007 19:45:34 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>drmike</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">85768@http://en.forums.wordpress.com/</guid>
			<description><![CDATA[<p>OH, I get it now.  The scrapper is actually the second site and they're stealing from the source of the first pingback.</p>
<p>Boy, that is a toughie.  if you mark it as spam, you're saying the first site is a splog as well when it's not.</p>
<p>Hmmm....</p>
<p>I still have pictures of naked 900+ pound women in my brain.  bare with me.
</p>
]]></description>
					</item>
		<item>
			<title>sunburntkamel on "What should be marked as spam?"</title>
			<link>http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/what-should-be-marked-as-spam#post-85767</link>
			<pubDate>Thu, 07 Jun 2007 19:43:09 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>sunburntkamel</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">85767@http://en.forums.wordpress.com/</guid>
			<description><![CDATA[<p>@devblog-<br />
i don't have a problem with the first post.  the second post is scraping <em>the first post</em> (not mine), no link to the OP.  </p>
<p>i'm not worried about my link, as much as the original writer's link.  As noted, I'm getting linked in both articles.<br />
Also as mark mentions, my concern is that this could be a petty thing (it's not necessarily my place to check for someone else's copyright infringement).  However, since the content of both pingbacks is identical, with a different URL, it's something akismet could concievably learn.</p>
<p>(in which case i'd have to dumpster dive if i wanted to show multiple pingbacks when someone x-posts an entry with a link)
</p>
]]></description>
					</item>
		<item>
			<title>drmike on "What should be marked as spam?"</title>
			<link>http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/what-should-be-marked-as-spam#post-85754</link>
			<pubDate>Thu, 07 Jun 2007 19:12:46 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>drmike</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">85754@http://en.forums.wordpress.com/</guid>
			<description><![CDATA[<p>Maybe we need a Spawn of Satan button. :)
</p>
]]></description>
					</item>
		<item>
			<title>mark on "What should be marked as spam?"</title>
			<link>http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/what-should-be-marked-as-spam#post-85753</link>
			<pubDate>Thu, 07 Jun 2007 19:10:55 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>mark</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">85753@http://en.forums.wordpress.com/</guid>
			<description><![CDATA[<p>Yes and No.</p>
<p>Places like bitacle, sportzia and others are nasty thieving splogs who deserve every obstacle throwing in their way. They should be being caught of course, but that sort of blog - spam them.</p>
<p>Other sites that ping which could both be legit and do display your link - it's your choice but I'd leave them be. If it happens a lot then they could cross the line but before then it could be innocent use. It's a value judgement.</p>
<p>--</p>
<p>In case others are attracted to the title, I'll add this (this is not directed at you adam!).</p>
<p>Please do not mark people as spam simply because you do not like them, they disagree with you, you want them marked as spammers or for any other non-spam reason. This is abusing Akismet and it does not need you making it's life harder. (And I'm looking at LOTS of Club Penguin bloggers here......)<br />
It's there for spam, not for anything else (and no, your ex-friend is not spam)
</p>
]]></description>
					</item>
		<item>
			<title>devblog on "What should be marked as spam?"</title>
			<link>http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/what-should-be-marked-as-spam#post-85736</link>
			<pubDate>Thu, 07 Jun 2007 18:19:26 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>devblog</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">85736@http://en.forums.wordpress.com/</guid>
			<description><![CDATA[<p>Personally, I wouldn't think they are blogscrapers since they're not displaying the contents of a post/page, instead they're linking to them.</p>
<p>See the text the have:</p>
<blockquote><p>
The list below represents some amazing work by various artists who have made their work available to the general public for a variety of uses. If you use any of the free icons make sure you give proper credit to the creator of the icons.</p>
</blockquote>
<p>I get many of those pingbacks from Ajax tutorials blogs.  They are not displaying the whole <a href="http://blog.coderlab.us/rasmus-30-second-ajax-tutorial/">Rasmus’ 30 second AJAX Tutorial</a>, but linking to it... so I guess that's acceptable because they're driving traffic to me blog.
</p>
]]></description>
					</item>
		<item>
			<title>drmike on "What should be marked as spam?"</title>
			<link>http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/what-should-be-marked-as-spam#post-85709</link>
			<pubDate>Thu, 07 Jun 2007 17:41:36 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>drmike</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">85709@http://en.forums.wordpress.com/</guid>
			<description><![CDATA[<p>If it's truely blogscrapers, I'd say yes.  I'm assuming that Akismet pays attention to the domains within the spam.
</p>
]]></description>
					</item>
		<item>
			<title>sunburntkamel on "What should be marked as spam?"</title>
			<link>http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/what-should-be-marked-as-spam#post-85702</link>
			<pubDate>Thu, 07 Jun 2007 17:13:07 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>sunburntkamel</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">85702@http://en.forums.wordpress.com/</guid>
			<description><![CDATA[<p>this isn't wp.com specific, as much as it is akismet-specific.</p>
<p>If i'm getting pingbacks from blogscrapers, should i mark the comments as spam?  technically, they're valid pingbacks, from real sites... but the content is identical to the previous pingback.  Is this something akismet can learn, or should i just keep deleting the pingbacks?</p>
<p>first pingpack:<br />
nycgraphix.com/blogphoto/freebies/icon-resources/</p>
<p>second pingback:<br />
jewlab.com/?p=21</p>
<p>(obviously not the most ethical sites in either case, i'm tempted to just spam them both)
</p>
]]></description>
					</item>

	</channel>
</rss>
