Need help? Check out our Support site, then

3 page views: 33 Comments in spam

1. Hi, I'm new to blogging so still trying to figure some things out.

In the last two days my site stats says I've had 3 page views but I have 33 spam comments waiting for me to review. Each comment links to one of my past posts but neither one of them actually mentions anything from the post directly. Is it possible, these are all "splogs" (still trying to learn what "splogs" are). If the commentors aren't registering page views, how are they generating comments on my posts?

Another thing I've noticed is that I keep getting comment threads that are for someone else's post. They all register for "Italian Meat Loaves", but obviously are not for my post. How can I stop this from happening?

Thank you, I hope you can help me.

The blog I need help with is thissweetwife.wordpress.com.

2. I have 33 spam comments waiting for me to review.

They're not necessarily "to review". You can ignore them if you wish and they get deleted automatically after 30 days.

If the commentors aren't registering page views, how are they generating comments on my posts?

Spammers are sneaky, what else can I say? They don't actually visit your blog; they have a machine do it for them and which does not use any of the technology required by WordPress.com to actually track a visit.

Another thing I've noticed is that I keep getting comment threads that are for someone else's post. They all register for "Italian Meat Loaves", but obviously are not for my post. How can I stop this from happening?

I think that's another form of spam that involves trackbacks. These should also be intercepted by the spam filter.

I think you should stop giving spam so much importance, otherwise you'll do exactly what spammers want you to do: to worry. Just let the spam filter do its job :-) (And it's usually doing an excellent job. From personal experience, it's rarely wrong.)