Need help? Check out our Support site, then

'404 not found' on Preview following Static Page and Homepage link adjustment

1. sandraandsharon

Hi WP community!

I am new to the WP world and am attempting to set up a blog here: http://pepperberrycuisine.wordpress.com/.

My initial problem was that I wanted a static front page and only one link to it in my navigation bar.

I have gone through the FAQs and Forum to figure out how to make a static front page, which I have done (http://faq.wordpress.com/2007/02/20/having-a-static-page-at-the-front-of-the-blog/). I chose 'Home' to be my Front Page and 'Dips' to be my Posts Page.

I have also used advice from the FAQs about how to not have two home page links in my navigation bar(http://faq.wordpress.com/2007/07/01/i-have-2-home-page-links/). I made 'Dips' the parent child of the 'Home', which fixed this issue.

Now I have a new issue! My 'Dips' page won't show up at all- not in the preview, not when I view the site, not even when I log out and go to the page as a non-administrator.

Does anyone have any idea about why thismight be happening, and what I can do to fix it?

I appreciate all your help!

Thanks,

:-) Sandra

2. sandraandsharon

It's ok!

I just figured it out :-)

After trying everything I could think of for the past hour, I posted this question.

Two seconds later, of course, I figured it out.

It's all fixed!

Thanks,

Sandra

3. I see the Dips page just fine, but it's not actually a blog. It's a static page. Home does not appear to be a static page; it appears to be the blog itself. Not sure that's what you wanted.

4. sandraandsharon

Hmm...

Would you mind having a look it at it now that I *think* I've resolved it and seeing if that's still the case?

Thanks!

5. Still not seeing a Posts page anywhere. Does Greenery have the possibility to add the Pages Widget? If so, maybe add it temporarily to your sidebar and let's see if the Posts page shows up there.