Need help? Check out our Support site, then


Content Deleted When I Hit Save

  1. I was just in the middle of composing a new post for my blog and had to get up to make dinner for my kids. The post was ~400 words, and I hit Save, meaning to come back to it later tonight. Unfortunately, hitting save deleted ALL of the content in the post, leaving only the title.

    This is not the first time this has happened to me, but usually it's before I get so far into it.

    Is there any way the post I was working on can be restored, or is it just gone? What happened, and how can I prevent this from happening in the future?

    For a while (after the last time this happened), I was composing everything in Word - do I need to go back to doing this again?

    The blog I need help with is booksnobbery.wordpress.com.

  2. Advice:
    Create your posts on the dashboard of your own blog
    Dashboard > Posts > All Posts > Add New
    Do not create them here > http://wordpress.com/#!/post/

    Or use an offline blog editor so you always have backups on your own computer http://en.support.wordpress.com/xml-rpc/

    You may be able to recover a post revision. Go to Posts > All Posts, hover over the title of the post, click Edit and check the Post Revisions module for previous saved versions of the post. http://en.support.wordpress.com/posts/post-revisions/

    If you're not seeing the Revisions module while on the editor screen, click Screen Options (top right corner of your Admin page) http://en.support.wordpress.com/screen-options/ to activate it. Then select the post and page modules to include them. http://en.support.wordpress.com/modules/#list-of-modules Then you ought to be able to go here > Dashboard > All Posts > Posts and locate the post and recover it from post revisions.

    If you cannot locate the post for locating and restoring a post revision, and it's not in your Trash folder http://en.support.wordpress.com/trash/ then you will not be able to recover it. http://en.support.wordpress.com/trash/#restoring-from-trash

  3. Thanks for replying, Time Thief. I have all of the modules activated, and there's nothing where the revisions would normally be, which indicates that it was not saved at all.

    As I said, the post is still there - it's just a title now. All content is deleted, like I never typed anything at all, so there's no reason it would be in the trash, since it's still listed as a draft.

    I only ever compose from my Dashboard, I never use the other posting options, as they have a tendency of posting instead of saving. The other post options are pretty worthless.

    Essentially, I know it's gone, but that doesn't mean I have to be happy about it. I'm know I'm not the only person this has happened to (and - as I mentioned - it has happened to me before), so perhaps it's something TPtB at WordPress might want to look into.

    Again, though - thank you for taking the time to answer.

  4. how can I prevent this from happening in the future?

    Don't wait till you've typed 400 words before you click anything, and don't use drafts: when you start a new post, enter the title, type a couple of words, set the visibility to private, and click Update. Continue editing and updating, turn to public when finished.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic