Need help? Check out our Support site, then


How can I empty my blog of all content?

  1. My current blog address is cinemathusiast.wordpress.com. This was only ever meant as a temporary name until I could come up with something better, and yesterday I did. Basically, I meant to reserve the new name/address (livingroomroutines.wordpress.com), and figured I should to it by choosing "Create new blog", and then just erase it and change the name of my current blog immediately. As it turns out, there's no way now to undo the creation of a blog, and if I choose to delete it (livingroomroutines), I will lose the opportunity to use the address for my current blog.

    What I've done now is export all the content of my cinemathusiast address, but this still leaves the hassle with a full blogsite I will no longer use. Also, the people following my current blog will not automatically be transferred to the new one.

    So I guess, in a last desperate effort, I will ask if there's any way to just change the name of the current blog to livingroomroutines, and if not, how do I erase all the content of cinemathusiast so I don't have two identical blogs running? (I don't want to delete the blog entirely, as the name might be useful sometime in the future.)

    Hopefully not all too confusing :S
    Blog url: http://cinemathusiast.wordpress.com/

  2. I decided to rename cinemathusiast[WP] to thelivingroomroutine.wordpress.com instead, so that's where it is now. That's an address I hadn't already saved, so transferring everything went smoothly.

    However, for future reference I would still like to know if it's possible to somehow erase/unreserve livingroomroutines.wordpress.com without blocking it. Thanks!

  3. You can retain the blog and use it as a backup. Go here > Settings > Reading and you will find privacy settings. Set the blog to "private" rather than leaving it as a "public" blog.
    http://en.support.wordpress.com/settings/privacy-settings/

  4. If you don't want to do that then you have another option. You can delete the content and retain the URL and start fresh.
    bulk delete images & media http://en.support.wordpress.com/media/deleting-files/#bulk-deletion
    bulk delete posts > http://en.support.wordpress.com/posts/edit-posts-screen/#bulk-edit
    bulk delete pages > http://en.support.wordpress.com/pages/edit-pages-screen/#bulk-edit
    Here's how to permanently delete Trash >
    http://en.support.wordpress.com/trash/
    http://en.support.wordpress.com/trash/#deleting-permanently

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic