Need help? Check out our Support site, then


How to delete contents and deactive blog but retain name?

  1. I would like to empty one of my blogs but retain the blog url. Also, is there a way to retain the blog name/url but make it inactive while not using it?

    Thanks,
    Rhonda

    The blog I need help with is summeraine.wordpress.com.

  2. could you not put a static page with the words 'inactive blog' on as a front page then delete all other content?

  3. @exceemseocomp
    Please let us experienced Volunteers answer support questions and return to your thread here and read what I posted http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/jetpack-9?replies=3#post-1096151

  4. @savorysuburbanrecipes

    Hello there,

    If you don't have a lot of content and don't wish to wait for Staff to delete it for you then you can quickly remove your contents by deleting them in bulk.
    bulk delete images & media http://en.support.wordpress.com/media/deleting-files/#bulk-deletion
    bulk delete posts > http://en.support.wordpress.com/posts/edit-posts-screen/#bulk-edit
    bulk delete pages > http://en.support.wordpress.com/pages/edit-pages-screen/#bulk-edit
    Here's how to permanently delete Trash >
    http://en.support.wordpress.com/trash/
    http://en.support.wordpress.com/trash/#deleting-permanently

    Alternatively, you can tag this thread with modlook in the sidebar and Staff can empty the whole blog for you, but that will remove all data including posts, pages, tags, categories, comments, and uploaded files. Once deleted, the data cannot be recovered. If you are sure you want Staff to proceed, please reply to confirm the URL of the blog you want them to empty.

  5. but make it inactive while not using it?

    The Privacy Settings control who can and cannot view your blog. See here > http://en.support.wordpress.com/settings/privacy-settings/

  6. Do you have a custom domain? If not, you can just go to your dashboard Posts page and use the bulk editor to set all your existing posts to Private.

  7. Thank you to all that replied, I appreciate it. I think I will go to the bulk delete. It sounds like it just sits empty until I re-vamp it right? That's what I am assuming. I guess I'm used to another blog site that offers the option of not publishing it and kind of putting it on the back burner. Just wanted to make sure I understood the options. Thanks!

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic