Need help? Check out our Support site, then


Re-publising issue when making edits with the Publicize feature

  1. Hello

    I seem to be having an issue with the Publicize feature. when editing previous posts.

    When I activated the Publicize feature to add my Facebook and Tumblr accounts, every post I made an update to (56) a few days later was re-published on my accounts even though I manually shared them earlier.

    Last week, I added my Twitter account and made a change to one of my post and it immediately posted the updated post even though I had previously shared it back in January. However, minutes later when I made another change to the same post, it did not duplicate/ re-publish the post to Twitter. Nor did it re-publicize to Facebook or Tumblr. I also checked my RSS feed that day and did not see that the post was re-publicized/posted twice.

    This is what I think is happening:

    When you add an account to Publicize, if you make any updates to previous posts that were manually shared, they automatically will be publicized and duplicated to the account(s) you added. Any additional updates to the same post will not be re-publicized to Facebook or Tumbler but it will for Twitter.

    Which is unfortunate because looks like what we need to do is deactivate Publicize when making initial updates to any post after adding new accounts so it does not duplicate the posts since I find no matter when I go in to update, it is being republished/duplicated.

    I agree with swaroop and think it would help WP users if there was a feature we can choose to request that previously published posts not be re-publicized when adding new accounts to eliminate our having to physically turn off the feature every time we make an update.

    I am also having the same trouble with tags as icelandica. As of yesterday, still noticing when making any updates to previous posts at any time, Publicize is republishing the post to Twitter.

    Now I am hesitant when making changes because as a result of duplication, I have go to the Twitter accounts and delete the duplicate post which is a lot trouble and is very time consuming.

    Any assistance with resolving this issue would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

    As for posts imported from another blog, I am not familiar with that so I cannot make any suggestions. But if I ever have to try this feature, I will let you know what issues I may encounter.

    Thanks.

    joaynn510

    P.S. My inquiry was previously posted in this forum:

    null

    The blog I need help with is joaynn510.wordpress.com.

  2. When you add an account to Publicize, if you make any updates to previous posts that were manually shared, they automatically will be publicized and duplicated to the account(s) you added. Any additional updates to the same post will not be re-publicized to Facebook or Tumbler but it will for Twitter.

    Right, though it's actually true for Twitter too.

    We have no control over sharing a post, but we do over Publicizing. Essentially, each post will only be Publicized once. If it was shared and never Publicized, it will still be Publicized the next time you update it. If it was already Publicized once, it won't be Publicized the next time.

  3. Thank you for the prompt response. I think I understand what you are saying.

    When I updated a previous post I had manually posted to Twitter some time ago, if my memory serves me correctly, it had not already been Publicized which is why it had been re-published.

    In the future, I guess I will need to pay specific attention to posts I publicize after the account add so when going in to make updates to previous posts, understand if they have not been previously Publicized, it will be republished.

    Thank you for your help.

  4. You're welcome!

  5. Hi,
    I'm having a problem with publicize too. My problem is when I go to edit a published post (either to add tags or a link), when I press update it republicizes it on Facebook. The edit box in publicize doesn't let me unclick FB (its greyed out), so I cannot edit a previously published post without it re-publicizing on FB.
    Thanks for you help.

  6. Was the post in question previously sent to Facebook via Publicize, or was it previously only shared manually?

  7. Yes, post was previously sent to Facebook via Publicize. I just want to go back and add tags to the post without re-publicizing it on Facebook.
    It used to be, not that long ago either, that I could unclick FB in the editing box of my post before updating it. But I no longer can do that. The box is grayed out.

  8. Ok, that's what you should be seeing. :)

    The box is greyed out because it has already been Publicized. Even though it's checked, it's greyed out, which means that Publicize is effectively "off" for that post.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic

Tags

No tags yet.