Hi There,
I was hoping for a lesson in reading a Whois entry. As you are aware, when comments and spam get onto ones blog, they are listed with email, IP and url if they have one. There is aslo a link to Whois.
Problem is that most of us have no clue as to what the information means, except the obvious (name, IP's etc) and thus cannot decipher for ourselves if it is truly SPAM or not.
Example: What appears to be a legit comment was left at my site and the whois says this:
OrgName: RIPE Network Coordination Centre
OrgID: RIPE
Address: P.O. Box 10096
City: Amsterdam
StateProv:
PostalCode: 1001EB
Country: NL
ReferralServer: whois://whois.ripe.net:43
NetRange: 212.0.0.0 - 212.255.255.255
CIDR: 212.0.0.0/8
NetName: RIPE-NCC-212
NetHandle: NET-212-0-0-0-1
Parent:
NetType: Allocated to RIPE NCC
NameServer: NS-PRI.RIPE.NET
NameServer: NS3.NIC.FR
NameServer: SUNIC.SUNET.SE
NameServer: NS-EXT.ISC.ORG
NameServer: SEC1.APNIC.NET
NameServer: SEC3.APNIC.NET
NameServer: TINNIE.ARIN.NET
Comment: These addresses have been further assigned to users in
Comment: the RIPE NCC region. Contact information can be found in
Comment: the RIPE database at http://www.ripe.net/whois
RegDate: 1997-11-14
Updated: 2005-08-03
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-11-20 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
Now because this shows multiple listings of IP addresses, I would normally mark it as SPAM and then delete it.... but how does one know for sure that is the right thing to do?
Could you give us some feedback as to how to decipher the WHOIS info please.
Any help is appreciated.
Thanks
gottabkd.wordpress.com