Need help? Check out our Support site, then

Wordpress website design for 100% novice/beginner

1. I am considering downloading WordPress to build a website for my small business, but I have never created a website before and know very little on what to do. I am looking for a design tool that will basically let me build a website easily as if I was desktop publishing. No code for me - I just don't get it! I own my domain name and have set up hosting with another provider. I would like to know if using WordPress to build my site is something a complete novice can work through on their own, or should I not bother wasting my time?

2. Sandra
    here's my two-cents w/o knowing as much as I'd like to about your situation;
    so you have a domain name and hosting; later you could use WordPress.ORG there; but that is definitely a topic for later, probably much later;
    for now...
    you might set up a site with WordPress.COM (you and I are on WordPress.com right now); it's free, the site sets up in 5 min;
    I wouldn't call it "easy" but it's no more difficult than using desktop publishing; plus there is a ton of support - like this forum - and many easy to understand articles at en.support.wordpress.com
    ...and no need to code; you aren't the only one who doesn't get coding!
    the signup page is at https://signup.wordpress.com/signup/
    good luck!

3. Bobbol,
    I considered WordPress.com. I understand that it's possible to map an existing domain to my wordpress.com website. Is this what you do? If so, is it reliable and OK? I realize there is a charge for this, so it might be better to have wordpress.com host my site. But - can I switch my hosts? Is it just a matter of cancelling with my other host and moving my domain over to wordpress.com?
    Thanks for your advice and I'm happy to hear I'm not the only one who gets confused with the whole coding thing.

4. Please read this comparison for the sake of clarity
    http://support.wordpress.com/com-vs-org/