To whom it may concern:
Can you please cancel my wordpress account and also delete my blog?
The blog I need help with is bstrawter.wordpress.com.
We cannot do this for you.
You must be logged in under the exact same username account that created a blog to delete the blog. To prevent accidental or inadvertent deletion of blogs, there are multiple warnings given that blog deletion is permanent and irreversible. Lastly, a verification link is sent in an email and must be clicked to delete a blog. If clicking that link does not work then copy and paste it into your upper browser window and click.
Deleted blog URLs are not recycled, regardless of who registered and deleted them and no exceptions are made.
All you were required to provide to register an account here was an email address that can be replaced at any time.
Any personal information that you voluntarily posted can also be removed at any time.
Although username accounts are not deleted, so you cannot be impersonated and have your reputation affected by anyone registering the same username in the future, there are steps you can take that amount to removing all personal information and result in leaving only a throwaway email address behind. http://en.support.wordpress.com/deleting-accounts/
1. You can go to My Account->Edit Profile and remove all data except the account name and an email address. Create a throwaway email address and change the account email to that throwaway address. This only leaves the username behind.
2. To unsubscribe from email sent to you from WordPress.com, go here and click on “Block all subscription emails from WordPress.com”:
3. To ensure the account is locked up tightly, visit this site, generate a password of 15-20 characters, and change the account password to it:
4. To hide your Gravatar profile, please read “How do I hide my profile?” section of the help page: http://en.gravatar.com/site/faq/#answer-1-8
IMPORTANT NOTE: Deleting blogs and/or blog content does not remove any indexed items from the SERPs (search engine page results). Google and Bing only clear their caches of deleted indexed content that produces a 404 (page not found) every 3 – 6 months.
The topic ‘Cancel’ is closed to new replies.