Hi, I have been billed for an annual fee, I was wondering what happens if I cancel my subscription and ask a refund: 1) would my website still be available but only visible to me, or 2) would everything be lost? Thanks in advance!
The blog I need help with is bellastrongmama.com.
Your site visibility is set to private and will either be private or public as you so choose https://en.support.wordpress.com/settings/privacy-settings/
No content will be lost but the URL will revert from the domain URL to the underlying .wordpress.com URL and it will take up to 3 months for Google to re-index your content again under the .wordpress.com URL.
You can view all transactions made with WordPress.com, including payments and refunds, in your Billing History. https://en.support.wordpress.com/billing-history/
Canceling and refunding purchases
There are no prorated refunds. Refunds https://en.support.wordpress.com/refunds/ are time limited.
• WordPress.com provides a 30-day refund from date of purchase on all upgrades except Domain Registrations, Domain Renewals, and Guided Transfers.
• The refund period for Domain Registrations and Renewals is 48 hours.
• It takes 7 – 10 business days and depending where you live from 1 – 2 weeks for the refund to be received after canceling an upgrade and requesting one.
You have to be logged in as Admin http://en.support.wordpress.com/user-roles/#administrator under the exact same username account that registered the blog to access the blog’s dashboard, cancel any upgrades, claim a refund for any qualified upgrades, and disable auto-renew. See: Canceling and refunding purchases http://en.support.wordpress.com/my-upgrades/#canceling-upgrades
It is important to know that cancelled domains are not released by the registrar immediately. Also note that here’s no guarantee you’ll be able to use a domain again as it may be sold to someone else. Therefore you should cancel a domain, if and only if, you are sure you do not wish to use it again.
1) would my website still be available but only visible to me
If you cancel the domain mapping upgrade, your site will revert back to it’s free WordPress.com address (alignedmum.wordpress.com). This means it will no longer be available by visiting bellastrongmama.com.
Cancelling upgrades won’t hide your site from public view — this is a change you will need to make manually using the instructions @timethief linked to:
2) would everything be lost?
No, none of your posts, pages or media will be deleted :)
Come back to me if you have any other questions.
The topic ‘Cancelling subscription’ is closed to new replies.