changing website username and name

  • Author
    Posts
  • #839080

    depreceated
    Member

    Hi,

    I had two blogs going, and I wanted to transfer the data from one to the other and then delete the old one. I did that. I also wanted to make the old name available so that I could use it on the new one. I did that. I then deleted the old one. Now when I got to change the name of the new one it says the name already exists, however i made sure I chose the option to make it available to other users.

    Secondly, I changed the name of the user for the new one and now when ever I try and make changes it says I do not have access, I need to set up admin rights to that user. However this user is the old user just renamed, so it has admin rights already.

    I get this:

    Error Accessing Dashboard

    You are logged in as “name” and do not not have the necessary privileges to access the dashboard for “Global Dashboard”. Please ask an administrator of the site to invite you.

    If you reached this screen by accident and meant to visit one your own sites, here are some shortcuts to help you find your way.

    But I am now the only user :( If i try and log in as the old user it does not exist.

    The blog I need help with is jpcutler85.wordpress.com.

    #839178

    timethief
    Member

    I also wanted to make the old name available so that I could use it on the new one.

    Deleted blog addresses ie. blog URLs are not recycled and cannot be used by anyone after their deletion.
    http://en.support.wordpress.com/settings/delete-blog/
    http://en.support.wordpress.com/recycling-blog-names/

    #839187

    depreceated
    Member

    So the “free up the blog name so somebody else can use it” option is not really what it means. WordPress should change that as I went ahead thinking I could then use the name else where. If I knew I couldn’t I wouldn’t have deleted it :(

    #839189

    timethief
    Member

    So the “free up the blog name so somebody else can use it” option is not really what it means.

    I have never seen that in support documentation at all and I’ve been here for 6 years.

    If you delete a site you will not be able to get it back and no one else will be able to use that site address. http://en.support.wordpress.com/settings/delete-blog/

    However, you can purchase a domain mapping upgrade and then what the underlying .wordpress.com blog URL is will not matter. http://en.support.wordpress.com/domain-mapping/

    #839198

    depreceated
    Member

    Here it is on the dashboard. clicky

    Nevermind, I will get around it. Thanks.

    #839354

    raincoaster
    Member

    That IS new. I think you’ll have to ask staff for help via your dashboard Help button.

The topic ‘changing website username and name’ is closed to new replies.