You must be logged in under the exact same username account that registered a blog to delete the blog. To prevent accidental or inadvertent deletion of blogs, there are multiple warnings given that blog deletion is permanent and irreversible. Lastly, a verification link is sent in an email and must be clicked to delete a blog. If clicking that link does not work then copy and paste it into your upper browser window and click. When you click the verification link the blog will be deleted and the URL will be gone forevermore. http://en.support.wordpress.com/delete-site/
Deleted blog URLs are not recycled, regardless of who registered and deleted them and no exceptions are made. http://en.support.wordpress.com/recycling-blog-names/
To change blog visibility to private instead go to > Settings > Reading. See the guide here http://en.support.wordpress.com/settings/privacy-settings/
The topic ‘Closing this blog’ is closed to new replies.