Often, as you work on a post you may leave it a while while away researching. When you return to the post you then find the message : “There is an autosave of this post that is more recent than the version below. View the autosave”. But if you click this link, the dropdown warning first asks whether you really want to leave the current edit as changes may be lost.
At this point - obviously you have not yet pressed the Publish button - there’s no way of knowing whether your last keystrokes from half an hour ago have been autosaved, so if you leave this edit you risk losing them - in order to find out what’s in the autosave version, which today for example was timed more than an hour before my last edits.
Your support page in this topic says “Auto-save means you don't even have to worry about saving – just write.” Yet it also says “Each new autosave overwrites the previous autosave in the database.” So presumably not the edit on my screen? The autosave will be an older version than what I was working on half an hour ago. But can I be sure?! Even when you view the autosaved version, it’s usually impossible to detect differences between two versions given that all the HTML is visible.
I’m finding this warning wastes a lot of time worrying about what I might lost! How often does Autosave refesh its copy?
The blog I need help with is shapersofthe80s.com.