You shouldn’t delete blogs, just in case you want to use the address later. If you delete a blog you can never use that address again. Instead, it would be a good idea to set the blog to Private. Go to Settings -> Reading and find Site Visibility. Click Private and save changes. This means only people you pick will see the site. I you don’t pick anyone, the site will be unavailable to others until you change the settings.