Hello, I wanted to replace a media item whose URL I had given to some people (call it xyz.pdf) ... so I deleted the original and uploaded a new version of it with the same name so that the URL that I had sent to others would still work (by opening the newer version), however this turned out to not be the case - upon further examination, I noticed that when I uploaded the new version its URL became xyz1.pdf, and the old version was still being retrieved when the original URL was used (due to caching apparently), even though it was deleted from the media library. So my questions are: is there a way to have the original URL point to the new version? And if not, how long will the old version be available at the original URL?
Need help? Check out our Support site, then
Deleted but cached media item
This topic has been closed to new replies.