There have been recent changes. It actually works the other way round. The longer you leave it the less likely an address will be recoverable:
It is possible to reverse a site deletion for the first 30 days after a site is closed. If you realize you closed your site in error, please contact us immediately. We will be able to assist you in restoring your site during this 30 day window. Once the 30 days have passed, all of your site data is purged and cannot be restored.
If it was less than 30 days ago, then return here and reveal the address of the site you wish to recover and also add the word modlook to the tag box on the right and a staff member will investigate.