Disabled blog name.
I had the name thefabulousmsm.wordpress.com and I accidentally disabled myself from using the name when I was attempting to transfer my information. Can this be reversed. I imagine that there is a small time frame before this resets to be open to the public. I still want that name. HELP!!!! I wanted to transfer the name to my already existing blog. I didn’t want to get rid of my account. THANK YOU.
Blog url: http://thefabulousmsm2.wordpress.com/
The blog I need help with is thefabulousmsm2.wordpress.com.
Once you change your username you will not be able to change it back and the old name will not be available for anyone else to use.
it’s not the user name. it is the blog name.
thefabulousmsm.wordpress.com is no longer available.
The authors have deleted this blog.
Gone is gone forever even from the original owner
Usernames can be turned into blog addresses, but blog addresses cannot be turned into usernames. For most usernames and blog addresses are the same. When we register a WordPress.com username account the matching blog is automatically reserved for our future use. That reserved blog cannot be obtained by anyone other than the person who has registered the matching username. However, deleted blog URLs here are not recycled.
See > http://en.support.wordpress.com/delete-site/
7. The final option presented on this screen allows you to discard your current address. This option will permanently disable the address and you will not be able to reuse it. Only select this option if you are sure you will not use the address again. If you want to redirect traffic to the new blog, you can keep the address and purchase the Site Redirect upgrade. http://en.support.wordpress.com/changing-blog-address/
I understand that. I want to create a new blog with that name and it still wont let me. when and how long does it take to free up the name? when you permanently delete them it allows someone else to use it why won’t it let me. that’s what I’m asking. isn’t there a tech support person instead of community forum. this isn’t helpful.
exactly the point I wasn’t trying to get to that screen and I couldn’t back out of it. I didn’t even ok the change. it froze up. there has to be a better answer. why is it different when you delete blog but not when you disable the name?
when and how long does it take to free up the name?
There is no better answer that a factual answer and that’s what you have. It’s not going to change. Deleted blog names ie. URLs are not ever recycled here. I’ve been here over 6 years and there are no exceptions.
then why does it give the option to “delete your blog to free up the name for someone else” ? that makes no sense at all and why is there no support #’s… oh well, thanks for the info… anywho I suppose there’s good and bad news your that information timethief. thanks.
The topic ‘Disabled blog name.’ is closed to new replies.