Also if you are going to delete a blog, read all the warnings and such as that URL will never again be available after you delete it. Not to you or anyone else. Deletion is permanent.
I generally suggest making the blog private at settings > privacy and then just not using it. No one will be able to see it and then if at some future time you want to use it again it is there for you.