Hits from “filterui” search engine (?) Virus ?

  • Author
  • #447987

    The other week one of my readers said that when she went to Google search engine there was a warning that my site might be infected.

    Now I’m concerned because I’m receiving a lot of hits on my site http://acanadianfamily.com
    on one single post:

    From the numbers I’m guessing this traffic is coming from this which appears in the list Search Engine:

    figure skating filterui:photo-photo

    When I google the word “filterui” this is what comes up:


    Is everything O.K.?

    Thank you,

    The blog I need help with is acanadianfamily.com.



    There doesn’t seem to be anything at all wrong with your blog. Can’t help with the warning, though.


    Thank you very much.



    It looks like ‘filterui’ is a special advanced search tool that can be used in Bing searches. It’s uncommon so our stats code didn’t recognize it. I’ll let the stats ninjas know.



    I added a filter that will remove the filterui commands from search terms in the future. Existing records are unaffected.

    The filterui term is added by the Bing search engine to specify a kind of search. In your case, it means somebody searched Bing for images with “figure skating” as the search.

    I should add that filterui appearing in your search stats is not related to any Google warnings (in this case false alarms) about your site being possibly infected.


    Thank you very much for the clarification, Tellyworth and Andy.
    Also for letting me know that my blog doesn’t have a virus.
    Evelyn in Montreal

The topic ‘Hits from “filterui” search engine (?) Virus ?’ is closed to new replies.