How to delete content and/or redirect people to my new site.
I moved to self hosted and I want to make sure people see my new site, not the old one. I don’t want to pay for the redirect, so I’d like to empty my site of content for SEO purposes and put a message that shows them how to get to my new site.
The blog I need help with is snowcreamandsyrup.wordpress.com.
See here please > moving subscribers
Provided you have installed and activated the JetPack plugin http://jetpack.me on your WordPress.org install, and you post the relevant URL(s) into a forum thread, Staff will do the transfer of both subscribers and stats for you. http://en.support.wordpress.com/moving-a-blog/moving-your-subscribers/#wordpress-com-to-self-hosted-site Do that now please as I have tagged this thread for their attention.
I would make the WordPress.com blog visibility private, import into it periodically and and use it as a backup blog. Why? Because having a backup on completely different servers can be godsend.
Alright, I’ve got Jetpack set up and did everything on the link.
To confirm, you would like your followers moved from snowcreamandsyrup.wordpress.com to snowcreamandsyrup.com?
Would you like me to empty the site at snowcreamandsyrup.wordpress.com? Please note that this will remove all posts, pages, media, tags, categories, and comments, and cannot be reversed, so I need you to confirm you would like me to do that as well.
Finally, would you like me to merge your WordPress.com and new Jetpack site stats?
Yes – please move followers, empty the site, and merge the stats.
If I delete the old site will that mess anything up for the new one?
No but why do that? Make it private and periodically import content into it so you have a backup blog on completely different servers hosted here.
I have transferred your WordPress.com subscribers and email followers as requested.
Please note that any WordPress.com followers who opted to receive email updates will need to re-subscribe again on your new site through the Jetpack signup box, otherwise they’ll only see new posts in their Reader. Non-WordPress.com email subscribers will continue to get email updates.
You might think about setting up a Site Redirect for your WordPress.com site at snowcreamandsyrup.wordpress.com to send your site visitors to your new domain. Otherwise, people will still be able to subscribe on your old site.
I have also merged the blog stats.
If I delete the old site content, that will not affect your new site, assuming you have already exported all of your content to your new site and it’s working properly.
One thing that will happen if you delete all of your old content is that any search engine power your old site had generated would be lost, as no one will be finding your old site, and your new site won’t have the same SEO value for a while. If that’s a concern of yours, I’d create a new “home” page saying your site has moved to snowcreamandsyrup.com and keep the rest of your content intact for now.
Even better would be to purchase site redirect for one year (as mentioned above), so that anyone who goes to your old site will automatically be redirected to your new site.
Thanks jackiedana. I understand about the SEO – google also dings you for SEO if you have duplicate information, so that was the idea behind deleting the old site since I have everything copied over already. I only built up a few months’ of SEO so it makes more sense to just start over with the new site and go from there. Thanks for your help.
Would you still like me to empty your site now? (Just want to make sure!)
Yes, please! sorry it took so long to respond, I’ve been away from the computer.
thanks for checking though :)
Cool, just wanted to make sure you didn’t have second thoughts. :)
I’ve emptied your blog snowcreamandsyrup.wordpress.com for you.
The topic ‘How to delete content and/or redirect people to my new site.’ is closed to new replies.