My old deleted blog shows up when I google it?
A few months I started a hiking blog called http://thehikingjuggernaut.wordpress.com/
I accidently deleted my blog last month. Now when I google it…. the url shows up — along with all my old posts and I cannot log into my dashboard either. Frustrating.
I would like to recover my old hiking blog and continue blogging, but if I can’t then I want it permanently deleted.
I have tried logging in with my old username and password and it shows “Create a new blog.” The folder is empty.
Additionally, just a month ago I tried accessing my old blog again and I kept getting a message that read “cannot access the dashboard without being invited by the admin if this twhecht log in if it is not then log out.” I am the admin for my blog!
I don’t understand why WordPress.com does this to their users. Either delete the blog permanently or let us access our blogs.
Need help with this problem.
http://thehikingjuggernaut.wordpress.com/ – is alive & safe.
You might have just deleted / hidden the blog from yourself – log out and try the options below – I will also flag this for the staff in case you transferred the blog by accident – they can retrieve it for you
@TT has some more info on un-hiding a blog but can’t remember the steps – she usually stops by in the morning
Account Recovery Page
twhecht.wordpress.com is no longer available.
The authors have deleted this site.
Are you sure you deleted the correct site?
Are you sure you are logged in with the correct username to access thehikingjuggernaut?
Good morning everyone. :)
twhecht you will have to recover the account first and then delete the blog. auxclass and justjennifer have got you off to a good start.
You must be logged in as Admin http://en.support.wordpress.com/user-roles/#administrator under the exact same username account that registered the blog to access the blog’s dashboard.
Clicking this link should display all your blogs registered under the same username, including the hidden ones: https://dashboard.wordpress.com/wp-admin/index.php?page=my-blogs&show=hidden
If you do not see the blog here http://en.support.wordpress.com/my-blogs/ then
follow this guide > http://en.support.wordpress.com/my-blogs/#my-blogs-dashboard-visibility
If you have lost your log-in information you can visit https://en.wordpress.com/wp-login.php?action=lostpassword
and if required click the “Need More Help” link and complete the form for account recovery.
To delete a free hosted WordPress.COM blog you must be logged in under the exact same username account that registered a blog to delete the blog. To prevent accidental or inadvertent deletion of blogs, there are multiple warnings given that blog deletion is permanent and irreversible. Lastly, a verification link is sent in an email and must be clicked to delete a blog. If clicking that link does not work then copy and paste it into your upper browser window and click.
Deleted blog URLs are not recycled, regardless of who registered and deleted them and no exceptions are made.
Alternatively, to change blog visibility to private go to > Settings > Reading scroll to Blog Visibility and choose option 3 . See the guide here http://en.support.wordpress.com/settings/privacy-settings/
IMPORTANT NOTE: Deleting blog content and deleting blogs does not remove any indexed content from the SERPs (search engine page results). Google and Bing only clear their caches of deleted indexed content that produces a 404 (page not found) every 3 – 6 months.
Good catch Jennifer – Thanks – guess still a bit early for me
Ok thanks I will try recovering my blog. I am still using twhecht as my username since it will accept it. I also changed my password.
I will let you know if I can recover it.
If you have indeed deleted your blog and cannot get it back you may not be able to prevent your old blog from showing up in Google searches, for even when the original content no longer exists portions of it will remain in Google’s cache for an indeterminate period of time.
@twhecht That blog is indeed owned by a different user account than the one you’re currently logged in with. You’ll have to log out as twhecht and log back in as the other user account. Do you remember the email address you used to set that account up?
I have only one email and one username. Eurello if that account is different than the one I am currently logged in with….. what else could it be? I only used my username and email to sign up. But the ironic thing is that I tried using my email to log in and again, it gave me the same error message: “Cannot log in if this is not twhecht, then log out or ask for invite by admin.” I wonder if the blog is deleted.
I’ll send you an email about this.
Ok I reset my password and used my email to log in.
I am logged into my old blog but its not letting me post any new blogs. It is saying I am logged in though.
The topic ‘My old deleted blog shows up when I google it?’ is closed to new replies.