Release Blog Name?
I have two blogs. One of which I would like to remove but wondered if there was a way to release the URL so that is still available afterwards?
The blog I need help with is soupandcowp.wordpress.com.
Please note that deleted blog URLs are not recycled.
You can make the blog private and use it as a test blog and backup blog. http://en.support.wordpress.com/settings/privacy-settings/
You can hide is from dashboard display http://en.support.wordpress.com/my-blogs/#my-blogs-dashboard-visibility
In order to delete any blog one must be logged in under the exact username account that registered the blog. Provided you are logged in under the username account that registered the blog you can delete it by using these instructions. http://en.support.wordpress.com/delete-site/
timethief why is there an option to ‘free up the blog name so somebody else can use it’ when deleting a blog, if URL’s are NOT re-cycled? Does that mean only someone else can re-use it, and not the original owner of it? But doesn’t that still mean it’s being re-cycled?
Good question redsoulnights as i’d like to know that too as it’s all contrary. If URL’s are NOT recycled then why is there an option to recycle it? It doesn’t make sense.
I have flagged this thread for a Staff response to this “free up the blog name so somebody else can use it” phrase which I can’t locate at either of these links:
I’ve been here for over 6 years and I have never heard that “free up the blog name so somebody else can use it” notion espoused here. the only place I have heard it is at Blogger.
Leave a Post that says “you can have this – leave a comment below to contact us” and set your comments to Moderate so you get an email if someone drops on the blog and would like to use it
I also see the ‘free up the blog name’ under the options in delete blog.
FWIW note that I flagged this thread for Staff attention and requested they remove that phrase from dashboard deletion instructions to eliminate confusion.
Thanks timethief, it IS confusing which is why i asked. I’d like to know what it means if it’s not to re-cycle the URL.
Hi all. The question about recycling the blog names comes up a lot, and the answer is that blog URLs are not recycled/reassigned.
That information can be found under Tools > Delete Blog, if you select the option “Free up the blog name so that somebody else can use” it, the following notice comes up: “At this time, there is no way to free up a blog name. Once you’ve registered a name, it’s yours. If you’re trying to free it up so that someone else can use it, you might want to try moving a blog to another user instead.”
The option is there because the question comes up a lot, and if a user selects that option, they see the answer immediately.
Let me know if you have any more questions about this or have suggestions about how to make that message clearer.
The topic ‘Release Blog Name?’ is closed to new replies.