I created a second site for our organization because our name changed but then decided I’d rather just update our current site. However, when I got to the page where I would delete the new site, it said that name would not be available in the future. Does that mean I can’t name my original site that name once I delete it?
In other words, say I have a site called abc.wordpress.com. We changed our name to xyz so I created a new site called xyz.wordpress.com. But since I have so much content on the old one, I decided to just rename it instead. If I delete the xyz.wordpress.com site, can I change the name of abc.wordpress.com to xyz.wordpress.com?
The blog I need help with is mercyhealthpa.wordpress.com.
If you delete a website (xyz.wordpress.com), you will lose that name and it can’t be reused. Unfortunately, its the same result when you change the name.:(
Deleting a site permanently removes it and you’ll never be able to re-use its WordPress.com address (such as yourgroovysite.wordpress.com).
This link offers alternatives to deleting a site you may want to explore.
All the best!
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.