Need help? Check out our Support site, then


Starting over with a new theme and default content?

  1. I am trying to switch a site to the Dara theme from Canape, but I was surprised to find how much of the Canape structure persists. Following the reset recipe does not work. There appears to be no way to contact support to ask for this reset. Am I right in thinking only paid sites have this kind of support?

    The blog I need help with is geocaffe.wordpress.com.

  2. To be clear: I am trying to mod https://bluemarblecafe.wordpress.com/

  3. Hi there, we have a tool that can set up your site to look more like the Dara demo. If we give it a fresh start, it will erase all content on your site, including posts, pages, and media. Can you please confirm that you'd like me to go ahead and run the reset tool on bluemarblecafe.wordpress.com? It doesn't look like you have much content there yet, but I need to confirm first. Thanks!

    p.s. if you need staff help in the forums the future, please add the modlook tag to the Tags area in the sidebar and a WordPress.com staff member will be glad to reply.

  4. Following the reset recipe does not work.

    Can you explain what you mean by this and ideally link to an example on the site?

  5. Hi Kathryn. Thanks for getting back to me. And thanks for the modlook tip.

    Yes, please go ahead and erase all the content on bluemarblecafe.wordpress.com. I would like to ensure the next semi-experimental version has a cold start.

    As for my comment about the reset recipe not working: I have a couple of experimental sites with you, and after switching between multiple themes I realized that some structural content persists, even if I try to hew closely to the recommended procedure for clean up. Of course I may well have slipped up, but it will be a while before I understand enough about WordPress admin and basic structures before I can be sure either way.

    Related question: Can you please clarify for me the second option, that of deleting the site entirely? The instructions warn (I'm parsing a bit) that the URL itself will be deleted permanently and remain unavailable in the future. Am I reading that right? If the domain name is freed up by a hard delete, I would simply do that and start afresh.

  6. Yes, please go ahead and erase all the content on bluemarblecafe.wordpress.com. I would like to ensure the next semi-experimental version has a cold start.

    This is done. If you need to set up the Featured Content slider, please follow the guide here, in the section titled "Featured Content Slider": https://wordpress.com/theme/dara

    As for my comment about the reset recipe not working: I have a couple of experimental sites with you, and after switching between multiple themes I realized that some structural content persists, even if I try to hew closely to the recommended procedure for clean up. Of course I may well have slipped up, but it will be a while before I understand enough about WordPress admin and basic structures before I can be sure either way.

    Gotcha. The general things to watch out for when switching themes are widgets, menus, and custom CSS, outlined in a bit more detail here:

    https://en.support.wordpress.com/themes/#switch-themes

    Other content does stay present though, and different themes may display that content in different ways. For example, some themes have a Featured Content slider while others may have a Featured Content grid -- while others don't have a Featured Content area at all.

    If you need help with anything specific after a theme switch, feel free to post again and we'll always be glad to take a look and see what may have happened.

    Related question: Can you please clarify for me the second option, that of deleting the site entirely? The instructions warn (I'm parsing a bit) that the URL itself will be deleted permanently and remain unavailable in the future. Am I reading that right? If the domain name is freed up by a hard delete, I would simply do that and start afresh.

    Deleting a site also makes the domain unavailable again, either to you or anyone else, so it's best never to use the "delete" option if you think you might want to use the domain again, as you won't be able to get it back.

    If you want to reuse the same domain but delete all your content, you can do that in your dashboard. The bulk-delete options are currently only available in the WP Admin dashboard, which you can access by adding /wp-admin/ at the end of your URL.

    https://en.support.wordpress.com/empty-site/

    If you truly have a very large amount of content (i.e. hundreds of posts, pages, images, comments, etc.) staff can also empty the site for you on request.

    Let me know if this answers all your questions!

  7. Kathryn,

    Thanks very much for your extensive and prompt reply. This is my first interaction with WordPress.com support, and I am very impressed!

    Yes, your answers address all my current uncertainties on this topic.

    C.

  8. Quick last follow-up: as you suggested, I accessed the https://en.support.wordpress.com/empty-site/ page, which indicates that to delete all content does indeed require deletion in five steps (posts, pages, categories, tags, media). I did so for another of my experimental sites, and confirmed that it does indeed empty everything out.

    However, as you have just done for my first site, a reset at your end does two things: (1) removes all of the user's content and mods; (2) reapplies all the default content.

    As far as I understand it, it's impossible at the user-wp-admin end to reset to the default theme content like this.

    For newbies like me, this reset to default content is extremely useful. It is also a little confusing that the FAQ doesn't indicate whether this is possible or acknowledge it might be desired.

    If I have a recommendation, it would be to clarify how to reset to default theme content.

  9. Right now, the setup tool -- it's called Headstart -- is applied automatically to a new site when it's first created, and we also occasionally run on request, if someone asks for their site to be reset to look like the demo like you did. It changes a site pretty dramatically and can't be undone, so we do like to have folks explicitly confirm with us first that they are OK with the reset. It's not something we cover in the support docs, since those generally cover self-serve tools, but it's something we might consider adding in the future and I appreciate the feedback.

    Thanks very much for your extensive and prompt reply. This is my first interaction with WordPress.com support, and I am very impressed!

    Very glad to hear that. We're always here to help!

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic